how to enable httpd stream with aac encoding ?

General Discussion about MPD – anything that doesn't fit in the other MPD forums.
Post Reply
piogac6088
Posts: 2
Joined: January 14th, 2019, 6:32 pm

how to enable httpd stream with aac encoding ?

Post by piogac6088 » January 14th, 2019, 7:06 pm

Hi,

I am successfully (httpd output) streaming using vorbis and lame (mp3) encoder.
I can not find any info how to encode this stream in aac .

So I need some help in this.
Is it possible to do httpd (output) stream using aac encoder ?
If yes - how to do this (compiling mpd ect.) ?

Many thanks in advance,

Peter

max
Forum team
Posts: 940
Joined: January 15th, 2013, 3:43 pm

Re: how to enable httpd stream with aac encoding ?

Post by max » January 15th, 2019, 7:34 am

MPD currently doesn't have an encoder plugin for AAC, so this isn't possible. But since AAC is inferior to Vorbis and Opus, why would anybody want to use AAC?

piogac6088
Posts: 2
Joined: January 14th, 2019, 6:32 pm

Re: how to enable httpd stream with aac encoding ?

Post by piogac6088 » January 15th, 2019, 12:04 pm

max wrote:
January 15th, 2019, 7:34 am
MPD currently doesn't have an encoder plugin for AAC, so this isn't possible. But since AAC is inferior to Vorbis and Opus, why would anybody want to use AAC?
Thank you very much for your answer. It changes my point of view about this issue.
I have always thought that AAC has the best quality/bitrate index among all loseless audio codecs.
Now it is clear ...
All best ...

tortuga_Bob
Posts: 8
Joined: December 7th, 2015, 11:26 pm

Re: how to enable httpd stream with aac encoding ?

Post by tortuga_Bob » January 15th, 2019, 7:06 pm

AAC is not a lossless codec. You are confusing it with Apple Lossless (ALAC). AAC has a bit rate of 256 kb/s.

max
Forum team
Posts: 940
Joined: January 15th, 2013, 3:43 pm

Re: how to enable httpd stream with aac encoding ?

Post by max » January 15th, 2019, 8:34 pm

Confusingly, both AAC and ALAC use the file name extension ".mp4".

I think neither AAC nor ALAC are worthwile. They are proprietary codecs which are not better than Vorbis/Opus and FLAC. Just stick with those free codecs.

marmitesandwich
Posts: 6
Joined: February 18th, 2019, 11:16 pm

Re: how to enable httpd stream with aac encoding ?

Post by marmitesandwich » February 28th, 2019, 11:19 pm

In my experience, aac audio files have an extension of .m4a (mp4 audio?). This is the way iTunes creates aac files, anyway. And it seems to be recognised by mpd.

I also understood that aac encoding gave a more efficient result than .mp3 (quality of result relative to a given bitrate). This is why it is used in Europe for DAB broadcasting (DAB+), and by the BBC for internet streams of BBC radio.That suggests that it is not a proprietary format. And mpd seems to play those streams just fine.

AAC has no fixed bitrate, just like mp3, and other lossy formats.

Maybe I misunderstood?
Marmite.

max
Forum team
Posts: 940
Joined: January 15th, 2013, 3:43 pm

Re: how to enable httpd stream with aac encoding ?

Post by max » March 1st, 2019, 7:42 am

marmitesandwich wrote:
February 28th, 2019, 11:19 pm
That suggests that it is not a proprietary format.
Unlike Vorbis and Opus, it is patent encumbered. See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_ ... nd_patents

There is no free AAC encoder. There is an AAC encoder in FFmpeg, but its license is incompatible with the GPL, thus its use with MPD is forbidden by copyright law.

Both aspects make AAC "proprietary", by my definition of "proprietary".

Post Reply