(SOLVED) DSD gets downsampled

Need help with MPD?
Ran
Posts: 144
Joined: February 25th, 2013, 3:47 am

Re: DSD gets downsampled

Post by Ran »

Paste you mpd.conf file.

wayne_woondirts
Posts: 26
Joined: July 16th, 2015, 7:55 am

Re: DSD gets downsampled

Post by wayne_woondirts »

I really appreciate your help, thank you!

Code: Select all

 ~/.mpd/mpd.conf

music_directory		"~/Musik"
playlist_directory	"~/.mpd/playlists"
db_file            	        "~/.mpd/database"
log_file           	        "~/.mpd/log"
pid_file               	"~/.mpd/pid"
state_file            	"~/.mpd/state"


audio_output {
	type 	        	"alsa"
	name		"Chord Mojo"
	device		"hw:Mojo"
	mixer_type	"hardware"
	dop		        "yes"
	auto_resample	"no"
	auto_channels	"no"
	auto_format	"no"
}
It doesn't matter which DAC I use (Cayin, Continental or Mojo) it's always the same result. DSD gets downsampled....

max
Forum team
Posts: 977
Joined: January 15th, 2013, 3:43 pm

Re: DSD gets downsampled

Post by max »

Add: log_level "verbose"

wayne_woondirts
Posts: 26
Joined: July 16th, 2015, 7:55 am

Re: DSD gets downsampled

Post by wayne_woondirts »

below state_file?

Ran
Posts: 144
Joined: February 25th, 2013, 3:47 am

Re: DSD gets downsampled

Post by Ran »

Like that:

~/.mpd/mpd.conf

music_directory "~/Musik"
playlist_directory "~/.mpd/playlists"
db_file "~/.mpd/database"
log_file "~/.mpd/log"
log_level "verbose"
pid_file "~/.mpd/pid"
state_file "~/.mpd/state"


audio_output {
type "alsa"
name "Chord Mojo"
device "hw:Mojo"
mixer_type "hardware"
dop "yes"
auto_resample "no"
auto_channels "no"
auto_format "no"
}

wayne_woondirts
Posts: 26
Joined: July 16th, 2015, 7:55 am

Re: DSD gets downsampled

Post by wayne_woondirts »

still no change...

Code: Select all

tail -f ~/.mpd/log
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Client changed to state 2
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Client is RUNNING
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Registering service _mpd._tcp/Music Player
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service group changed to state 0
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service group is UNCOMMITED
Apr 19 19:55 : state_file: Loading state file /home/felix/.mpd/state
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service group changed to state 1
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service group is REGISTERING
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service group changed to state 2
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service 'Music Player' successfully established.
could it be that Cantata is using its own mpd.conf?

skidoo
Posts: 181
Joined: April 28th, 2013, 10:06 pm
Location: Western Germany

Re: DSD gets downsampled

Post by skidoo »

could it be that Cantata is using its own mpd.conf?
Cantata is a client to MPD.

End or kill all MPDs running. Use absolute paths in mpd.conf. Start MPD server with absolute path. Any changes?

Ran
Posts: 144
Joined: February 25th, 2013, 3:47 am

Re: DSD gets downsampled

Post by Ran »

wayne_woondirts wrote:still no change...

Code: Select all

tail -f ~/.mpd/log
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Client changed to state 2
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Client is RUNNING
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Registering service _mpd._tcp/Music Player
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service group changed to state 0
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service group is UNCOMMITED
Apr 19 19:55 : state_file: Loading state file /home/felix/.mpd/state
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service group changed to state 1
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service group is REGISTERING
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service group changed to state 2
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service 'Music Player' successfully established.
could it be that Cantata is using its own mpd.conf?
You will have to restart MPD for the change to take affect.

wayne_woondirts
Posts: 26
Joined: July 16th, 2015, 7:55 am

Re: DSD gets downsampled

Post by wayne_woondirts »

Ran wrote:
wayne_woondirts wrote:still no change...

Code: Select all

tail -f ~/.mpd/log
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Client changed to state 2
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Client is RUNNING
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Registering service _mpd._tcp/Music Player
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service group changed to state 0
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service group is UNCOMMITED
Apr 19 19:55 : state_file: Loading state file /home/felix/.mpd/state
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service group changed to state 1
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service group is REGISTERING
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service group changed to state 2
Apr 19 19:55 : avahi: Service 'Music Player' successfully established.
could it be that Cantata is using its own mpd.conf?
You will have to restart MPD for the change to take affect.
I did restart the laptop when I tried...

wayne_woondirts
Posts: 26
Joined: July 16th, 2015, 7:55 am

Re: DSD gets downsampled

Post by wayne_woondirts »

skidoo wrote:
could it be that Cantata is using its own mpd.conf?
Cantata is a client to MPD.

End or kill all MPDs running. Use absolute paths in mpd.conf. Start MPD server with absolute path. Any changes?
just tried it and no changes.
what could be the source of all this?!

wayne_woondirts
Posts: 26
Joined: July 16th, 2015, 7:55 am

Re: DSD gets downsampled

Post by wayne_woondirts »

I GOT IT!

I was right in my assumption that Cantata uses its own mpd.conf. It's stored under: "/home/user/.local/share/cantata/mpd/"
the mpd.conf file was complete rubbish and that's why it was not doing what I wanted...
Now I have a white light on Mojo indicating that Cantata sends DSD files via dop to it.

Finally!! after months of struggling and head scratching.

wayne_woondirts
Posts: 26
Joined: July 16th, 2015, 7:55 am

Re: DSD gets downsampled

Post by wayne_woondirts »

for anyone interested, this is my current mpd.conf

Code: Select all

music_directory		"/home/felix/Musik"
playlist_directory 	"/home/felix/.mpd/playlists"
sticker_file 		"/home/felix/.local/share/cantata/mpd/sticker.sql"
bind_to_address 	"/home/felix/.local/share/cantata/mpd/socket"
db_file 		"/home/felix/.mpd/database"
log_file 		"/home/felix/.mpd/log"
log_level 		"verbose"
pid_file 		"/home/felix/.mpd/pid"
state_file 		"/home/felix/.mpd/state"

metadata_to_use	"artist,album,title,track,name,genre,date,disc,albumartist,composer"

samplerate_converter  "0"

audio_output {
	type 		"alsa"
	name 		"Chord Mojo"
	device 		"hw:Mojo"
	mixer_type	"hardware"
	dop 		"yes"
	auto_resample 	"no"
	auto_channels 	"no"
	auto_format 	"no"
}

skidoo
Posts: 181
Joined: April 28th, 2013, 10:06 pm
Location: Western Germany

Re: DSD gets downsampled

Post by skidoo »

I was right in my assumption that Cantata uses its own mpd.conf
Choose at Canata first startup:
If simple config/single user then statement = TRUE // Canata controls MPD startup
If multiuser/server config then statement= FALSE // init, systemd or user controls MPD startup.
Now I have a white light on Mojo indicating that Cantata sends DSD files via dop to it.
Congrats.

wayne_woondirts
Posts: 26
Joined: July 16th, 2015, 7:55 am

Re: DSD gets downsampled

Post by wayne_woondirts »

skidoo wrote: Choose at Canata first startup:
If simple config/single user then statement = TRUE // Canata controls MPD startup
If multiuser/server config then statement= FALSE // init, systemd or user controls MPD startup.
Thanks for the info, did obviously not know that. otherwise I would not have spent months trying to solve this. ;)

Post Reply