Page 1 of 1

ver 21.3 compile fails

Posted: December 8th, 2018, 12:39 am
by rikm
ninja fails with the following:

../../src/decoder/plugins/MpcdecDecoderPlugin.cxx:33:10: fatal error: mpc/mpcdec.h: No such file or directory

thanks and any thoughts welcome

Re: ver 21.3 compile fails

Posted: December 10th, 2018, 7:01 am
by max
This is a problem with your libmpcdec install. But if you don't want that codec, you can disable it with option

Code: Select all

-Dmpcdec=disabled

Re: ver 21.3 compile fails

Posted: December 11th, 2018, 11:49 am
by skidoo
Missing libmpcdec-dev package?

Re: ver 21.3 compile fails

Posted: December 11th, 2018, 11:58 am
by max
If that package were missing, then its presence would not have been detected at configure time. But we don't know, because the original post didn't contain any information. (It didn't even properly name the version number - there's no version "21.3".)

Re: ver 21.3 compile fails

Posted: December 13th, 2018, 3:33 pm
by rikm
Good morning and thanks for the replies,

the mpcdev package is installed, and the header is present, had checked for that first thing

libmpcdec-1.2.6-22.fc29.x86_64
libmpcdec-devel-1.2.6-22.fc29.x86_64

...thought maybe version issues, Fedora often being a minor rev or so back on random things, and the build does go further with musepack disabled [seems to build the pieces but the linker is not happy] but in any case finishes with the text below [after several screens full of PIE complaints]...the meson/ninja system is all new to me, so any thoughts welcome...


/usr/bin/ld: mpd@exe/src_db_update_Archive.cxx.o: relocation R_X86_64_32 against hidden symbol `db_mutex' can not be used when making a PIE object
/usr/bin/ld: final link failed: nonrepresentable section on output
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
ninja: build stopped: subcommand failed.


I can certainly send logs or screen output if it would yield more clues, please let me know

and thanks again for the help

Re: ver 21.3 compile fails

Posted: December 13th, 2018, 4:16 pm
by max
Hm, this relocation error looks like a toolchain problem. I have no idea how to fix this, sorry.